James Birkett Construction Ltd – Home Improvements Edinburgh, UK

TESTIMONIALS

A reputation you can believe 
in

We know we are doing well when we receive genuine letters of approval from our clients, many of whom we now know as friends. People we have worked for over and over on new and varied projects. We also wish to thank them as these letters are most appreciated!
For your free, no obligation quotation, contact

0131 229 1100 / 01506 853 388 or email

Testimonials

“Installation of double glazed window. Roland and Russell covered all access areas, removed the old window, installed the new window and finishings and did a very neat job indeed. It was very competitively priced, the guys were very friendly and polite, and they cleared up after themselves. Far better dealing with a local business which is highly thought of than a national company with subcontracted work and non existent after sales service. I highly recommend the business - they inspire confidence from first contact to completion.” - Mr & Mrs Robertson, East Calder, October 2017. 

“Faultless. I would highly recommend JBC. They were reliable, did a first class job fitting a new glass balustrade, and the premises were left spotless.” - Mrs G Simmons, Balerno, October 2017. 

"Please pass on huge thanks to the guys who have done it again – another fantastic first class job! Seriously excellent work, thank you very very much!" - Mrs S Adam, Edinburgh, July 2017

"JBC are a professional, friendly company to deal with and I cannot praise them highly enough. I recently had JBC at my home to install a new oak staircase and it is magnificent! The attention to detail and craftsmanship is superb. They also installed a new exterior meranti door with glass side panels and it has transformed the outside of my house. Roland and Russell are lovely guys and a pleasure to have in your home as they are so polite and respectful. I can 100% recommend them and will definitely be asking them back for further refurbishments in the future. Nicola who deals with all the admin is efficient andfriendly and always responds promptly to any queries or questions. A lovely family business with great service . A rare find! Thank you so much it's been a pleasure" - Helen Bett, Linlithgow, June 2017

"Due to having to work 10 days in a row unfortunately I did not see Roland and Russell whilst they where here. My wife Jane compliments them on their professionalism and manner and was highly impressed." - Mr Sinclair, Broxburn, June 2017

"We are renovating a flat in Edinburgh that required a new set of sash and case windows. JBC was recommend by my Mum who had a bathroom and staircase installed by them. The windows look fantastic, they fit in with the style of the building and are great quality. Russell and Roland take great care in their work and seem genuinely enthusiastic about what they do, their attention to detail is something you don't get with all tradesmen. I would definitely recommend them." - Miss R Anderson, Edinburgh, May 2017

"We have a rented flat in the New Town area of Edinburgh and needed a new handrail installed quickly to meet the requirements of a tenant who was just moving in. JBC contacted the agent, gained entry and measured up/costed the work. We were happy with the quote and they agreed to bring the job forward. All work was completed 100% on time and to agreed cost. JBC workmanship and attention to detail were excellent and we are delighted with the final result. They were truly "trusted traders" and we will use them again on other jobs that need to be done. Well Done!" - Mr & Mrs Petrie, Edinburgh, May 2017

"Needed a fix to a very large single glazed window on half landing that was both losing heat and letting in sound from neighbouring lorries. The JBC Secondary glazing was perfect for our Listed building - massive improvement in both draughts and noise and you would not know it was there! Excellent and efficient throughout - Roland and assistant were quick, tidy and friendly. Could maybe have got done cheaper but would certainly have been at expense of quality and probably on effectiveness." - Which? consumer, March 2017

"Russell and Roland are the best tradesmen we have ever used. It was a pleasure to have them around. The work to replace our sash windows with their own double-glazed units was immaculate and has stood the test of time. We are happy to recommend them without reservation." - K&D (Edinburgh), March 2017

"Absolutely first class work. Arrived on time, worked throughout the day and no mess at all. I would reccomend them to anyone and everyone." - 2011-07-01 11:35:13.86, February 2017

"Please thank Roland and his team for the superb work they have done in the flat today...
I understand Roland may have more work in the future in Lothian House after having met a few of our neighbours who asked for his details!"
- Mrs Howard, Edinburgh, November 2016

"JBC recently undertook a major repair in our property and thereafter installed a beautiful new bathroom. Their attention to detail and level of craftsmanship was outstanding and their manner of working extremely professional. We would have no hesitation in recommending them. The whole team Jim, Nicola, Roland and Russell were superb. Thank you so refreshing to know this standard of service still exists."
- Mrs Robertson, Royal Mile, October 2016

"They came, they saw, they conquered... Your ambassadors did a great job in record time, with a minimum of fuss and disruption and impressive professional skill. Olympic Gold!" - Ian Lockerbie, Edinburgh, August 2016

"JBC fitted replacement bannisters on the stair and top hallway. They turned up when they said they would. They did what they said would do, in the time they said and to a very high standard. They cleaned up behind them. Their communication was excellent. They charged only what had been agreed, and only once the work had been completed. We now have a top quality bannister of brushed chrome and glass. It is sturdier than the one they replaced and looks fantastic. Thank you so much!"
- Mr Logie, South Queensferry, July 16

"We are delighted with all of your work and my wife has written to express our appreciation, particularly in Elie where the new window at the rear has introduced real character both internally and externally. Well done! We have recommended you to a few people." - Mr Gotts, Colinton, Edinburgh, April 2016

"Iain and I just wanted to let you know how very pleased we are with the new windows in Edinburgh and Elie. Really delighted. Such a transformation in Elie. Must be very challenging dealing with an old house. The front downstairs bedroom and back bedroom windows are transformational. Thank you very much for all your hard work and for cleaning up Edinburgh too.... Glad you had good weather and sun whilst working in Elie, mostly outdoor work so you would get the chance to feel the sun. With our thanks, very kind regards.- Mr & Mrs Gotts, Colinton, Edinburgh, April 2016

"When you want to get a job done like this one, which is both expensive and one which would take a good bit of time and a lot of attention to detail, then you always tend to worry a little. But in this case there was no need for any worry at all. Right from the start I was told when the job would commence and when all the products would arrive. Both Roland and Russell were fantastic, never happy till everything was 100%. Their attention to detail was second to none and the result is there for everyone to see. I think they were even more excited about the end result than I was, if that were possible. Nicola was great too, always there with prompt answers to any problems. I am very pleased with the end result and would recommend JBC to anyone with complete confidence. Well Done Lads" - Mr Wardrop, Edinburgh, April 2016

"Hi Nicola, absolutely delighted with the staircase. It looks fantastic and really lets the light flood in. Huge thanks to your brothers who were amazing." - Mrs Macleod, Edinburgh, March 2016

"I am very pleased with my new windows. I am particularly pleased that the work was completed within a week while I was away from home. It was lovely to get home to find the job complete, the house exactly as I had left it, and absolutely no disruption to me!" - Mrs Templeton, Edinburgh, March 2016

"As always we are very pleased with the excellent workmanship of Russell and Roland. We also appreciated the 'guest appearance' from Jim to help with the heavy work." - Mr & Mrs Middleton, Edinburgh, February 2016

"WOW - Roland has worked his magic again and done a super job with the wee flat.

Would you thank Roland and his companion for their stirling work - the fireplace looks great according to our tenants Kev and Rachel" - Mrs Howard, Edinburgh, February 2016

"After JBC replaced our living room bay windows last year we were so pleased we got them back to do the rest of our windows. We are not disappointed. The work is to the exacting standard we have come to expect from JBC. We 100% recommend this company to anyone looking to have work done. Be warned though, they do such a great job that once you start you keep asking them back!!! Look forward to more work being carried out next year." - Mrs Chapman, Edinburgh, January 2016

"Many thanks for a job well done" - Mr Strachan, Haddington, Oct 2015

"Roland and Russell did a great job. It was a real pleasure having them in the house and totally trustworthy with fantastic workmanship. We now know exactly where to turn for future work and who to recommend to family and friends." - Mr J Burnett, Edinburgh, August 2015

"Please convey my thanks to Roland and Russell. I am absolutely thrilled with my spare bedroom/art studio!

The standard of finish in the room is excellent. In the past, I have had wooden floors fitted by other joiners - and the way you have fitted the edging round the radiator pipes etc is neater than any others I have had.

I am so happy that the work has been completed within a week and am so looking forward to my weekend - and getting all my art materials stored away in my new units.

I think this space is really going to work for me." - Mrs Templeton, Edinburgh, May 2015

"We are delighted with our new timber sash and case windows in the living room. The work carried out and the manner in which it was done was superb. The whole process from start to finish was trouble free, the finished article is fantastic and the guys were great. We have no hesitation in recommending JBC to others and will be in touch in the near future for further work to be done." - Mr and Mrs Chapman, Edinburgh, May 2015

"Brilliant loft conversion today, great workmen, no dust and no mess, thanks Roland and Russell for all your hard work and effort" - Mrs Black, Edinburgh, January 2015

"Once again a huge thanks the glass balustrade is fantastic and makes a huge difference to our living room." - Mr and Mrs Buchan, Eyemouth, December 2014

"No doubt Roland and Russell will have told you that we are delighted with all the work they have done to replace our sashes with double-glazed units. From their very first day here and throughout the whole process, their attention to detail and the quality of their workmanship have exceeded our best hopes and expectations. It has been a pleasure to have them around.
I could write at greater length but your purpose may be best served by our confirming our willingness to be contacted by prospective customers: our recommendation would be unreserved." - Kpdp, Colinton, Edinburgh, November 2014

"I am delighted with the quality of doors made by JBC. They were just what I wanted and at a great price. Excellent service from start to finish. Would highly recommend." - KD Porter, Uphall, September 2014

"Hi Roland. Hope all is well with you. We finally got the new carpet done as well so please find attached some images of the finished banister - it looks great! Thanks again to you and Russell." - M Prout, Belford Mews, September 2014

"Once again the guys have done a first class job! No doubt you are fed up hearing this but they really are the best of the best. I am happy to recommend them to anyone as they are not only multi-skilled at the highest level, they are two really nice guys." - G Nisbet, Bathgate, August 2014

"I would like to say how happy I am with the quality of work your company has provided me with. Russell was a very pleasant young tradesman with good old-fashioned values and nothing was too much bother for him. I would not hesitate to have further work carried out by your company." - Mr J Nisbet, Corstorphine, Edinburgh, August 2014

"Thank you to Roland for an amazing job done on our fusion balustrade. Great workmanship, efficient and friendly, will definitely use your company again in the future." - Mrs Munro, Livingston, June 2014

"Great service, quality product and excellent craftsmanship. All at the right price. Highly recommended." - Mr McRobbie, Edinburgh, June 2014

“We recently chose JBC to upgrade our kitchen and we're delighted that we made that choice. Everyone at JBC is great to deal with, very professional and friendly too. The final results are even better than we hoped, even though we had high expectations. We will use JBC again in the future and will certainly recommend them to friends and family." - Mr Eccles, Bathgate, June 2014

"Please pass on our thanks to Russell, Frank and Roland who have done a lovely job on our windows and we are very, very pleased." - Mrs Service, Edinburgh, February 2014

"Roland and Russell were brilliant and really professional and we are delighted with the finished job. Thanks again." - Mr McLauglan, South Queensferry, January 2014

"Thank you guys for the great job you did. It was carpeted yesterday and looks fabulous. It has been admired by all my visitors and it is great it was done by Christmas. Cheers from one satisfied customer." - Mr McDonald, Uphall, December 2013

"Hi Jim, Nicola, Roland and Russell, I wanted to take the opportunity to say an enormous thank you for transforming my rather tired bathroom. A lot of work has been done on it to a high standard and I'm extremely grateful. My wife and I appreciate the care taken to get everything just right. So once again a big thank you. Best wishes for the future." - Mr and Mrs MacDonald, Rosewell, October 2013

"We are delighted with the recent upgrading of our conservatory door. Roland and Russell not only did an impeccable job that could hardly have been improved upon, but they also took time to talk us through what they had done and how to operate the new security lock that they had installed. It was a real pleasure to observe real craftsmen at work, seeing for ourselves that high professional standards and commitment to the customer were their absolute priority.

We have made a recommendation of your company to the Consumer Association's website (www.local.which.co.uk) that has lists of recommended trades and craftsmen for all the regions of the UK. We gave you the highest ratings for both quality of work and value for money. We are almost hoping that some other improvement at Beechmount Park will soon prove necessary, thus giving us the opportunity to call on your services again!

In the meantime, many thanks for the really outstanding work that you did for us." - Rowena and Ian Lockerbie, Edinburgh, October 2013

"I wanted to take the opportunity to say an enormous thank you to yourself, Roland and Russell (and everyone else) for transforming my rather tired house into my magical home. A lot of work has been done on it, all to JBC's usual high standard, and I'm extremely grateful. Hope you've had a lovely summer!” - Mrs Mackellaig, Edinburgh, August 2013

"Very pleased with the work done. Thanks to everyone for the great organisation and speed of completion. Really appreciate the care taken to get everything just right and the lack of any major disruption even with all the various different jobs. Also appreciate the way you were able to accommodate my work schedule. The new door and house exterior look great. Also very pleased with the work in the kitchen (and impressed you were able to save the lino!) Will definitely contact you again if any further work’s needed.” - Mrs Gibson, Harburn, May 2013

"Martyn and I would just like to thank Russell and the crew for all of their efforts in fixing the problem of the cracked rendering on our chimney breast. The guys did a very professional job, including a thorough clean-up at the end. We are very impressed, and would have no problems recommending JBC to friends and neighbours and with providing a testimonial if so required.” - Mrs Stoker, Edinburgh, April 2013

"A huge thanks to all at JBC for all the work that's gone into upgrading my house over the last couple of months." - Mrs Mackellaig, Colinton, March 2013

"I'm really pleased with the doors, the hatch and the fact the shower is now working! Many thanks once again." - Mr Evans, Morningside, March 2013

"We are delighted with the doors - they make such a difference and look really good. Please tell Russell and Slava thanks and well done for tidying up :)” - Mrs Stewart, Livingston, November 2012

"JBC are an excellent family company. We cannot recommend them highly enough. If you are looking for an efficient company that you can trust and whose work is of the highest standard then they are the ones to choose. The work they completed in the house from the roof to the kitchen was fantastic and their attention to detail was excellent. We are delighted with the results. Our new front door was designed and built by Roland; it has transformed the front of our house and has been greatly admired. Thank you. Thank you to your team Roland, Russell, Frank, Slava and Cameron for all the handwork, thoughtfulness and kindness. They were always a pleasure to work with, good-humoured and considered our needs. Thank you to Nicola who was always friendly and helpful at all times. Our very special thanks to Jim, he was supportive, helpful and went the extra mile in our time of need, so much appreciated. Excellent, efficient service, we cannot recommend them highly enough." - Mrs Clark, Barnton Edinburgh, October 2012

"Had JBC do a number of building jobs for us ranging from upgrading bathrooms, shower rooms etc and also a new build extension to our property. Excellent workmanship throughout, very high standard of finish and most of all reliable and dependable. They custom built the hardwood windows for our extension - great look and excellent quality. Would recommend JBC without reservations - great to find a company who deliver what they say they will hassle free!" - Mr P Adams, Duddingston, Edinburgh, October 2012

"Roland, the cupola looks great - a massive improvement on what was there previously." - Mr Evans, Morningside, Edinburgh, June 2012

"Nicola - wow! I'm hugely impressed by the balustrade. It looks fabulous. In fact, I had a wardrobe installer in this evening and she was so taken with it that she photographed it and emailed it to a friend who is looking for just that. She wanted to know who had done it so I passed on your name." - Mrs Mackellaig, Colinton, Edinburgh, June 2012

"Nicola, I just wanted to say a very big thank you to Roland, Jim and everyone who was involved in all the work that has been done on my house. Needless to say, it has been done to a very high standard and I am absolutely delighted with it all. A special thank you to Roland also for doing such a beautiful job on the doors." - Mrs Mackellaig, Colinton, Edinburgh, June 2012

"Could I take this opportunity to extend the thanks of Jenny and myself for the quality of the work carried out by Russell and Frank. Their courtesy, their helpfulness, their ability to listen to anxieties (!) and their flexibility were tremendous. The completed work has left Jenny and I delighted with what has been produced.

At the end of your estimate, you promised "first-class workmanship" and that was exactly what was achieved. We are really pleased that we used JBC for the work.

I hope that you will all have a good break over Christmas and the New Year and trust that your business will not have to suffer a repeat of the appalling weather experienced at this time last year." - Mr and Mrs Barclay, Falkirk, November 2011

"It's difficult to know how to show our appreciation for all the work that's been done, but please would you pass on this e-mail as an attempt to say thank you. Russell, Frank and Slava have been at the house the most and I've been very grateful to them for their thoughtfulness and kindness whilst working in the place where I live and work. I'm sure it would have been so much easier for them being in an empty building, so we particularly appreciate the way they considered our needs. They were always good humoured and friendly to us, our family and visitors. On a practical level, they always left the house clean and tidy and looking as normal as possible. Although you and Jim and Roland haven't been at the house so much, we've also appreciated all you've done to make the work go well and to keep in touch with us.

Most importantly we've appreciated the excellent workmanship, particularly Russell's attention to detail and perfectionism. He has been very aware of the need to preserve the period features of the house while upgrading and modernising it. He's been very good at working out what we wanted - even when we weren't sure - and listening to what was important to us. We haven't taken any of this for granted. Neither have we taken the improvements to the house for granted. We still look at the stars through the cupola, enjoy opening windows, and admire new bathrooms and mains pressure when we turn on the taps. The curved skirting board in the utility room is a work of art and we show it to all our visitors. Practically the house works - it's hard to know how to explain that further, but it's such a contrast to the old version of the house where things weren't convenient and didn't fit together in the way that they do now.

Special thanks to Russell, and to you all for making it all happen!" - Mr and Mrs Schyma, Edinburgh, October 2011

"We're delighted with the windows - please convey our thanks to the team.” - Mrs Holligan, Edinburgh, August 2011

"Really pleased with work - many thanks!" - Mrs Duffy, Edinburgh, August 2011

"I love my new kitchen! Nicola - please could you tell Roland that the cooker he chose is fabulous, better than the one I had before." - Mrs Schyma, Edinburgh, May 2011

"Extremely reliable and helpful. We have been using JBC for over 7 years now and they have always been very professional and timely. They have a great depth of knowledge in all areas. We have had all manner of work done, from wall removal, fitted bathrooms and painting; all done to a high standard and all for the price quoted. Excellent service; can't recommend them highly enough." - Mr and Mrs Schyma, Edinburgh, December 2010

"We have used JBC for significant property improvements over the last 3 years - installation of new sash and case double glazing, tall French doors and glass balustrade and bespoke panelled shutters and box. On every occasion the quality of work has been fantastic and professionalism and service excellent. A great family firm, we can't recommend highly enough!” - Mr and Mrs Evans, Edinburgh, December 2010

"An excellent company. Friendly and efficient. They renovated a two-bed flat in Edinburgh for us, installing new flooring, bathroom and kitchen, a couple of windows and internal sliding doors between kitchen/diner and lounge. We were living 150 miles away at the time and they dealt with the day to day stuff very well, contacting us for decisions when appropriate. I would highly recommend them; they were recommended to us by friends who had similar work done." - Mr and Mrs Graham, Aberdeen, December 2010

"We needed a new door which was a bit out of the ordinary. JBC worked with us to design it and then built it and installed it. It has transformed the front of our house." - Mr Graveling, Edinburgh, November 2010

"Russell and colleagues installed a new bathroom and toilet for me. The job was far from straightforward and I was absent while the work was being carried out. I returned after the work was completed and I was absolutely delighted with the result. They may not be the cheapest but if you’re looking for a very efficient company that you can trust to work to the highest standards of craftsmanship, I would not hesitate to recommend JBC." - Mrs Witcher, Edinburgh, November 2010

"Fantastic firm and highly recommended! We have had both a bathroom and a kitchen extension built by JBC. The work is excellent and the customer service is second to none." - Mr and Mrs Tetsill, Kirknewton, November 2010

"JBC were recommended to me and we employed them to modernise our bathroom. My wife and I were absolutely delighted with the end product and we would recommend the company to anyone. A short time later, we employed them again to modernise a small toilet and the same high standards were achieved. Russell and Roland are craftsmen at their trade and the overall service was second to none." - Mr and Mrs Marshall, Musselburgh, November 2010

"Cannot recommend this company highly enough. They went above and beyond for me both during the revamp of the bathroom and for plumbing emergencies!!! Russell and Roland are excellent craftsmen and Nicola is prompt and friendly returning emails!! Costs were very reasonable too!!" - Mrs McLeod, Edinburgh, November 2010

"Thank Russell for the work - we are very pleased with the result." - Mr Crisp, Edinburgh, August 2010

"Thanks once again for doing an excellent job for us. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend your company and I hope I'll be able to call upon you next time I need some work done!" - Mrs Stoker, Edinburgh, June 2010

"Many thanks for an excellent job." - Mr Frazer Smith, Edinburgh, May 2010

"Once again we are delighted with the work done so thanks to Russell, Roland and the boys!" - Mrs Brown, Edinburgh, May 2010.

"Please pass our thanks on to Roland (and others involved) for our new doors. We are very pleased with them, they certainly transform the outside of the house (as well as making it much easier to get in and out as we hoped)." - Mr Graveling, Edinburgh, March 2010

"The windows are looking great - we're really pleased with them! :) Please pass on a big 'thanks' to everyone involved (especially in the cold weather)." - Mr Lee, Westfield, Bathgate, February 2010

"I'm really pleased with the windows and the professionalism of your firm." - Mr Scott Hamilton, Edinburgh, December 2009

"We are delighted with the French doors and glass balustrade, the quality of the product is excellent. The professionalism of service provided by JBC Ltd continues to impress and we would have no hesitation in recommending you to others. Please pass on our thanks to Roland and Frank." - Mr and Mrs Evans, Morningside, Edinburgh, October 2009

"May I say that my wife and myself were very pleased with the work carried out. Your tradesmen Roland and Frank were most competent and considerate. I would recommend them to anyone." - Mr McManus, The Grange, Edinburgh, August 2009

“Further to a flood in my flat I instructed JBC Ltd to carry out the remedial works. Not only was their quote that they submitted the most competitive but I found them to be flexible in their approach which allowed my partner and me to continue to live in the property while the work was being carried out. Their staff was friendly and approachable and very efficient in their work with a real attention to detail. I would recommend JBC Ltd without hesitation.” - Mr Galliva, Inverleith– Edinburgh, June 2009

"I refer to the work which you recently completed for me. The manufacture and installation of the small double glazed octagonal window in my dining room was very well done and I would not hesitate to use your firm again. I would also recommend you to others. I also enclose a photograph of the new window which you may freely use in any publicity material connected with your firm.” - Mr Hall, Buckstone, Edinburgh, June 2009

"Hope things are well. Here are some before and after photos of the lovely doors you did for me." - Mr Hall, Edinburgh, June 2009

"Thanks for another very good job." - Dr Holden, Dullator, March 2009

"Could you please pass our thanks on to all involved especially Russell and co. who went "beyond the call of duty" regarding our faulty oven." - Mr and Mrs Nixon, Linlithgow, November 2008

"We are delighted with our new double glazing and with the quality of work undertaken. We were also impressed with the level of service provided. The positive interactions we had from start to finish are head and shoulders above all of the Edinburgh window companies we had previously attempted to give our business to. We would happily recommend your service and products to others. Please convey our thanks to Roland, Jason and Alex." - Mr and Mrs Evans, Edinburgh, October 2008

"I wanted to write down that I am very happy with the quality of the work performed by Russell and the team involved. They have stuck at the task and shown flexibility where required - combined with the quality of work, for me, this delivers value for money." - Mr Stephen, Marchmont, Edinburgh, October 2008

"I have just returned from three days at the flat. I am just so pleased with the end result. The standard of finish and attention to detail are really excellent and Jim and Val have both been excellent at sorting out the very few minor snags. I genuinely think it is verging on miraculous that our shabby student flat has been completely transformed on time and on budget and with minimal involvement required from ourselves. I look forward to doing business with JBC again soon. Many thanks to all the Team." - Mrs Templeton, The Meadows, Edinburgh, September 2008

"Thank you so much for your excellent work on our two bathrooms in Edinburgh. We are absolutely delighted with the look and finish and wish it could be us who will enjoy them. Thank you also for the little extras that you did. It was enormously helpful to have everything done by the same people and we really appreciate it. We would be more than happy to recommend JBC in the future. Meanwhile, all the best for the future." - Ms Bourne, Suffolk, August 2008

"Thank you so much for a job well done!" - Mrs Breheny, The Grange, Edinburgh, June 2008

"I am happy to enclose my cheque for the balance. The work was undertaken and completed with care and consideration by a very hard-working young man and I am very pleased with the outcome. I would not hesitate to recommend your company, should I be in a position to do so." - Mrs Brankin, Bo'ness, March 2008

"At the present time the reputation of the building trade is at an all-time low with a large number of tradesmen charging premium rates for substandard work. Mediocrity has become the norm. It is with pleasure then that I have no hesitation in recommending the services of JBC to all. From Jim’s initial visit and advice, the subsequent prompt arrival of Russell to commence work through to his completion of the various jobs the company has demonstrated a high standard of professionalism.

Throughout the months that Russell worked in our house his endeavours produced excellent results, demonstrating good attention to detail, a high standard of technical ability and sensible compromises and advice. He was respectful of our home throughout and was a genuine pleasure to have around.

It is our intention to utilise the services of JBC for any future work carried out on our home." - Scott McQuade, Edinburgh, March 2008

"Once again, Jenny and I have been delighted with the quality of work, the complete professionalism and the friendliness of Roland and Russell while they were carrying out the work on our windows and doors. While we may not have too much to do in the sphere of building work, it is good to know of a firm which we can contact in the event of something arising, in the full knowledge that quality work will be assured. Thanks once again." - Neil Barclay, Falkirk, July 2007

"Many thanks for an excellent job. I have pleasure in enclosing your cheque. We would like to arrange for another quotation for another door. Kind regards." - Mr Stewart, Edinburgh, June 2007

"I am writing to say how delighted my wife and I are with our new bathroom, just completed by your firm. Russell succeeded in completely transforming the room into a showpiece we are now very proud of. We also appreciated Russell's suggestion of creating a shelved alcove from what was a concealed void behind the old shower (and Roland's perfect construction of the oak casing). It looks outstanding! Their attention to detail was second to none and we would have no hesitation in recommending their workmanship to anyone. Lastly but not least, Nicola's arrangements made sure everything went smoothly too. Many thanks once again." - Mr Marshall, 'The Fairways', Musselburgh, May 2007

"Many thanks again for a first rate job carried out by quality and well-mannered tradesmen." - Mr Pryde, Ratho, May 2007

"Another lovely job completed. Peter and I are both delighted with it. Russell, as always, was professional despite being confronted with a hall where there probably isn't a straight line to be had!" - Mrs Thomson, Edinburgh, April 2007

"Many thanks for satisfactory workmanship and completion of all the little details. We would have no hesitation in recommending you to others and appreciate the careful and unobtrusive way that you carried out all the work." - Miss Harmer, Kirkliston, January 2007

"Please pass on my thanks to Roland for the excellent work carried out. Best wishes." - Elaine Read, Edinburgh, December 2006

"I wish to thank you for the work your company did in replacing our shower-room and front door and in particular for advising us re: the repairs that needed to be carried out when a leak was discovered at the onset of the work. It was all most appreciated and we are delighted with the new shower-room especially." - Mr Grant, Mid Calder, December 06

"My wife and I were extremely impressed by the professionalism and the quality of the work of the 3-man team. We would want to use your firm again and recommend you highly to other people." - Mr Barclay, Falkirk, September 2006

"Thank you very much for your work. I'm very pleased with it. Please find enclosed a cheque for the balance. I have a flat in Easter Road and would like an estimate for upgrading the bathroom." - Mr Rawson, Edinburgh, September 2006

"Thank you for a great job, I have no hesitation in recommending your work to anyone who asks." - Mr Eccles, Pathhead, August 2006

"Thanks for the work which I am pleased with." - Mr Rawson, North Berwick, August 2006

"Russell was very efficient and worked well, especially in extreme heat, not very comfortable for working on a roof! I am so glad my garage is water tight again so thanks again." - Mrs Dawson, Falkirk, August 2006

"I should like to thank Russell and Mark for their professional expertise. Especially Russell, who can turn his hand to anything and is a great asset for your company." - Mrs Haigh, Linlithgow, May 2006

"Many thanks for a super job!" - Mrs McCartan, Newton, May 2006

"I'm writing to say how delighted we are with every aspect of your services. Your workmen have been most obliging and tidy. You've provided the best value for money and achieved the look that matches the house most sympathetically. I won't hesitate in recommending your services to others and look forward to the possibility of having you work here again on some future project." - Mr John Edwards, Edinburgh, April 2006

"I regret the delay in writing to you after the installation of the replacement arched windows. The quality of the windows is quite superb and is all that we could have asked for. I am very grateful to you not only for the work which you have carried out but also for the courtesy and patience which you displayed in dealing with the problem of the arched windows. The manner in which your staff carried out the work was a credit to your firm." - T.A.K Drummond, Penicuik, April 2006

"We write in appreciation of the first class work carried out by your staff in the design and renovation of our bathroom. The new layout and installation has given us a beautiful shower room with super finishes and one which gives us pride and comfort. The work was carried out expertly and in a friendly and considerate manner and we would have no hesitation in recommending your company to anyone. We also write to thank you for all the help and guidance you gave us during the work". - Mr and Mrs Hood, Bonnyrigg, March 2006

"Many thanks. We're happy with the windows and the way all the work was carried out." - Mrs Drummond, Penicuik, March 2006

"You can use these photos as you please for the purposes of advertising or illustrating our absolute satisfaction with work carried out." - Pauline Thomson, Edinburgh, January 2006

"Many, many thanks. We're delighted with our new bathroom." - Mr and Mrs Moffat, Livingston, January 2006

"Thanks again to the team for all the excellent work over the last few years. Best wishes." - Maxine Mayhew, Edinburgh, September 2005

"Thank you for your high standard of workmanship and the men in your employ who worked hard too. Thanks to you Mr Birkett for your eagle eyed attention to detail and to Nicola for her kindness on the phone." - Mrs Haigh, Linlithgow, September 2005

"Thanks again for the super tiling job. I am really pleased. Attached are a couple of photos." - Mrs Scrimgeour, Edinburgh, September 2005

"Many thanks for a job well done and promptly." - Elaine Reid, Edinburgh, July 2005

"Thank you very much." - Dr M A Simpson, Edinburgh, July 2005

"Thanking you all very much for excellent work." - Kay Gibson, Edinburgh, July 2005

"I have no problem in recommending you to others I know. Your professionalism in all aspects of what turned out to be a lengthy bit of work does you all credit." - Mr Haughton, Edinburgh, June 2005

"I write to thank you for the excellent service we received prior to, during the building and on the completion of our conservatory. Most people will appreciate that it is often a lucky dip picking a builder for a job, but we were pleasantly surprised at the professional approach of all the team and at all stages of the job. Not only were we delighted with our new conservatory, but also with the attitude of the tradesmen and the condition in which the surrounding area was left. We would be delighted to speak personally with anyone considering using JBC." - Ian and Louse Kirkpatrick, Stenhousemuir, April 2005

"I would like to thank you all at JBC for such excellent service, both administratively and for the work undertaken. We are delighted with the results and shall recommend you in the future." - Rebekah Hertzfeldt, Edinburgh, April 2005

"I am delighted with the quality of the work - the end result is fabulous, so thanks very much. Many thanks also for your prompt attention." - Miss Adele Du Feu, Edinburgh, March 2005

"Many thanks for our wonderful new windows!" - Abigail Jackson, Edinburgh, February 2005

"My husband and I are very pleased with the work done and look forward to our future dealings with the company." - Pauline Thomson, Edinburgh, December 2004

"Thanks for a fantastic job." - Victoria Knox, Philipstoun, November 2004

"Thanks so much the windows are beautiful and just in time for the cold weather Roland and (I think?) Jimmy did a great job and left the flat clean and tidy. Thanks!" - Gillian Law, Edinburgh, November 2004

"Do pass on my thanks to Roland and Jimmy as I am so pleased with the finished effect. It looks great and a pleasure to look out on. Thanks again to you all." - Lynda Tait, Livingston, November 2004

"On behalf of my tenants and myself, I would like to thank you for assisting me recently when the door, following the break in had to be replaced at very short notice. I greatly appreciated your help for carrying out the work so promptly." - Elizabeth Munro, Edinburgh, November 2004

"I would like to take this opportunity to say I was very pleased with the standard of work carried out by your employee and would have no hesitation in recommending your company again." - Lesley Malone, Edinburgh, July 2004

"Once again I have been delighted with the high standard of workmanship and I would be grateful if you would pass on my thanks to Roland and Russell." - Sandra Mackellaig, Edinburgh, May 2004

"On Friday your plumber installed a new shower for us in Elieburn, Livingston. We would just like to say what a professional job your man did, he tidied up perfectly as he went along and we will have no hesitation in recommending JBC to our family and friends." - Mr and Mrs Brown, Livingston, April 2004

"I cannot thank you enough for all the work done and for your lovely Christmas card." - Grace Greig, Edinburgh, January 2004

"Many thanks for organising the work and I would be grateful if you would be so kind as to pass on my thanks also to Russell and Val for the high standard of work which they carried out in replacing my front door and repairing the woodwork." - Sandra Mackellaig, Edinburgh, January 2004

"Thank you very much for your speedy work in making our window. We are very happy with it and were able to finish decorating our extension room to enjoy Christmas in it." - Joan Pitcairn, Rosslynlee, Fishery, January 2004

With reference to their insurance company - "They have given me the go ahead to get the work done and are happy with your quote. Mr Ian Orr who came out to see us regarding the work has experience of your company and says you do good work." - Partick Ferry, Fauldhouse, October 2003

"The quality of the work carried out, especially the doors appears to be good and we feel has improved our house enormously." - Brian Shanks, Livingston, October 2003

"The bathroom looks great - the tiling is particularly good." - David Todd, Edinburgh, August 2003

"The windows make a wonderful difference to the kitchen and bar areas. I'm sure that everyone will be well pleased with them when we return for the winter session. A job well done. Many thanks to Roland for his perseverance and dedication, he worked well and hard, you have a real treasure there." - Harry Wilson, Edinburgh, July 2003

"The workmanship was fantastic. I will be recommending your services to many people who will pay you on time!" - Rachael Gunn, Edinburgh, May 2003

"Thank you for the excellent job your company made of my double-glazing. Rachel and I absolutely love them and feel they reflect the quality of workmanship with which they were installed." - David and Rachel Bell, Bo'ness, March 2003

"May I take this opportunity to thank you for works that you completed quickly and efficiently from short notice at a busy time for the building industry. I would have no hesitation in using you again or indeed recommending you to others in future." - Andrew Sive, Edinburgh, January 2003

"Many thanks for your help. The tiling is now complete although we will probably have to retile eventually. The workmen worked very hard in completing the job within a couple of days. I would certainly have no hesitation in contacting you again should I require any work done." - Linda-Ann Kerr, Edinburgh, December 2002

"I am delighted with the driveway and frontage. Many thanks to everyone for their hard work and once again feel that the service has been excellent. Please pass on my thanks to Brian, Russell and to Jim for organising everything for me.” - Lynda Tait, Livingston, December 2002

"Just a short note of thanks for the recent work you did on the conservatory roof. It is now completely watertight after a great deal of very heavy rain. A good job well done!" - Mr Love, Glasgow, November 2002

"Thank you for the successful completion of the new window installation. I thought your team were very professional and very dedicated to completing a good job. We will certainly consider you for our window replacements in the future." - Mr Corbett, West Linton, November 2002

"Thank you all very much for all the work you have put in on this project. As you know, we are very pleased with the conservatory and landscaping and are now looking forward to buying things for the pond. Please pass on our thanks to Roland, Russell and Nicola for all their hard work." - Mr and Mrs Davies, Penicuik, September 2002

"I would like to thank both you and your sons for your efforts in putting some of the character back into our house. I am sure that you never envisaged the "problems" that were to manifest themselves but it is a testament to your professionalism that you were able to come up with innovative ways in overcoming them. All of this carried out with the minimum of disruption and mess, much to the delight of Susan! Since the completion of the work, we have had nothing but praise for the transformation and I would have no hesitation in recommending your services to any of our neighbours or friends.” - Iwan Tukalo, Edinburgh, January 2001

"My apologies for not writing sooner to thank you for the splendid work in repairing my downpipe etc and for the receipt you sent.” - Grace Greig, Edinburgh, July 2000

"Both Frances and I would like to thank you for the excellent job your company made of our new conservatory, and for the helpful, friendly and tidy way in which you carried out the work. We have already had a great deal of pleasure from the conservatory and once again thank you for giving us exactly what we wanted.” - Mr JD Crow, North Berwick, October 2000

"The attention to detail and display of craftsmanship demonstrated during construction was a pleasure to witness, and helped restore our faith in the building trade. As a consequence we will have no hesitation in recommending your firm to anyone who plans to embark on a similar project." - Mr A Glass, Kirkliston, July 2000

"Please feel free that you can ask anyone for recommendation from me, should they be prospective conservatory purchasers. The quality of workmanship was very high with keen attention to detail." - Mrs R Loudon, Pathhead, November 1999

"Jim Birkett and his team have consistently produced work of a high standard and have been able to suggest imaginative design solutions to the particular problems of our 150 year old home. Whether replacing or adding windows or doors, or constructing a conservatory, we have been particularly impressed by the firm's ability to turn vague ideas in our heads into reality, as well as the cleanliness of each site after work was completed." - Mr and Mrs Adair, Linlithgow, October 1999

"It is just over 4 years since your company built our fine conservatory for us, and Isobel and I continue to be delighted with it. Being so spacious it’s a great place to entertain, and saves us having to tidy the sitting room! We have had no problems, despite being in probably the windiest part of West Lothian, and it has considerably enhanced our house." - Mr Russell Crow, White Quarries by Broxburn, September 1999

"While you were not the cheapest quote we received, I have no doubt you have given the best value and therefore I have no hesitation in recommending you to others considering have a similar job done to their home. Please feel free to send any potential customers to have a look at our conservatory if you so wish." - Ian Watt, Edinburgh, June 1999

"Please thank Roland and Russell for the work carried out, they were so clean and tidy, the builder we had last year who worked on our extension could learn a few lessons from them. We are delighted with the end result." - Ms Cusick, Bishopbriggs, Glasgow, January 2017

Share by: